Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Hassan 2 Golf Trophy
Hassan 2 Golf Trophy
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Archives
31 octobre 2008

DAVIES DEBUT WILL ADD STAR STATUS TO H.R.H. Princess LALLA MERYEM CUP

2008-10-29

DUBAI – Laura Davies, arguably Britain's most outstanding female golfer of the modern era, will lead a glittering star parade when she competes in the forthcoming H.R.H. Princess Lalla Meryem Cup to be held at along side the Hassan II Golf Trophy by Emaar in the Morrocan capital of Rabat from November 5 to 9.

The winner of 68 titles, including four majors, and over $12 million in earnings in an eventful career spanning over 22 years, Davies will join a stellar star cast which includes defending champion Gwladys Nocera, during her first visit to the region when the prestigious event, jointly promoted and organized by 'golf in DUBAI,' gets under way at the at Royal Golf Dar Es Salam.

The 44-year-old veteran from Coventry, England, has dominated women's golf with her power, style and never-say-die attitude since turning pro in 1985, and needs just two more LPGA victories to enter the Tour's Hall of Fame.

"I would love to get into the Hall of Fame and I would probably have won more (on the LPGA) if I hadn't spent so much time playing in Europe," said Davies, who successfully defended her Austrian title at Golf Club Fohrenwald in Wiener Neustadt in September this year.

Davies now hopes to build on her success with further victories on Ladies European Tour and Solheim Cup points. “I want to get my confidence back; I want to be ready to go again next year and be in The Solheim Cup. That is a big thing for me next year,” she said.

"Rabat will be great fun. I haven't played there before, but I have heard a lot from the players who featured in last year edition – they all talk very highly about it.

"I can't wait to be there," said the former world number one whose name has become synonymous with the Solheim Cup, having featured in every match since the women's version of the Ryder Cup started in 1990.

Despite many firsts and four majors to her credit, Davies hasn't lost her appetite for action and is hungry for (more) success as ever before. "I just love winning trophies. It’s easy to say but I just love winning them and this makes it that there was only one year in 23 years that I didn’t win a tournament (2005) and that still wrangles me," she said recently.

Known for her uncanny wit and humour, the four-time major winner, Davies has her own nonchalant approach to the game. "Everyone goes on about all this fitness but golf is just walking and swinging a club," she said. "I don't buy into it at all. If you don't think I can walk 36 holes a day because I'm 44, I think you're wrong," added Laura who is also the ninth player in LPGA Tour history to surpass the $8 million mark in earnings.

Commented Mohamed Chaibi, Executive Director of the Hassan II Golf Trophy by Emaar: "She is still giving the younger players a run for their money and that speaks volumes of her talent and her determination to stay on top.

"Laura will bring in a wealth of experience to the Lalla Meryem Cup and her performance will inspire and encourage more youngsters to take to golf. No doubt, women's golf here is picking up steam steadily, but the presence of the players of the stature of Laura will help proliferate this trend," he said, adding: "I wish Laura and all other players a very pleasant stay in Rabat."

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité